Michigan Fine Arts Competition

2018 MFAC top award: Our Ancestors Guide & Protect Us by Garin Horner (Adrian MI); photo, 24″ x 24″

Exhibition: June 21-August 22, 2019

New, extended deadline: May 25, 2019

2019 Michigan Fine Arts Competition

JUROR: Jerald Melberg

CLICK HERE for the prospectus with a portal to the application.

Questions? 248.644.0866 or Info@BBArtCenter.org


BBAC Robinson Gallery 1 for FB cover photo

The Birmingham Bloomfield Art Center has hosted the Michigan Fine Arts Competition annually since 1982 when the Detroit Institute of Arts turned the statewide competition over to the BBAC. Every year, more than 500 artists from Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois & Wisconsin enter the competition. Many winners have gone on to national prominence as a result of this competition. Each year, the MFAC is juried by artist(s) or curator(s) of distinction, who select current work of the highest quality. Cash awards support working artists, while recognizing the contributions they make to the cultural fabric of our region.

MFAC Jurors

1982 Grace Hartigan
1983 Philip Pearlstein
1984 Miriam Schapiro
1985 Richard Anuskiewicz
1986 Romare Bearden
1987 Judy Pfaff
1988 Alice Aycock
1989 Patterson Sims
1990 Gracie Mansion
1991 Alvin Loving
1992 Gladys Nilsson
1993 Laura Trippi
1994 Ellen Phelan
1995 James DelGrosso
1996 Jane Hammond
1997 John Walker
1998 Larry Rivers
1999 Nancy Mitchnick
2000 Howardena Pindell
2001 Brenda Goodman
2002 Nick Cave
2003 Richard Nonas
2004 Al Hinton & Sei Saito
2005 Susan Wilczak
2006 Jerry Berger
2007 Gerry Craig, Rebecca Hart, Janet Teunis & Susan VanArendonk
2008 Brian Rutenberg
2009 Tony DeBlasi
2010 Sondra Freckleton
2011 John Palmer
2012 Mi-Kyoung Lee
2013 Brad Durham
2014 DJ Hellerman
2015 Joseph Winterhalter
2016 Terence Hammonds
2017 Noel Anderson
2018 Emily Mae Smith & Adam Henry